Pushing The Green Button

Victoria (V.E.) Schwab’s “Just. Keep. Writing.”, published a month ago, just got my writing cogs turning again. This best-selling novelist met frustrations and troubles with her editor and publishers, but kept writing.  Like Schwab and most writers, I get tangled in the daily hubbub of life. I’m also a mother, kitchen queen, laundry techie, broom operator and psychic finder of lost keys. Finding the time to write isn’t supposed to be that hard, but sometimes my writing mind don’t seem to work when I finally get my hands on the keyboard. Staring at the blinking cursor on a blank page of my Scrivener app staring back at me. Then there’s the fear of failure. It stares at me too. What if nobody wants to read my book? What if publishing independently was a bad idea? I know. My mind created these phantoms of uncertainty that’s keeping me from moving forward. I know I have to fight it and just keep writing while staring at Schwab’s words written on a post it note before me:

I keep writing.

Because I know that no matter what happens, I have more ideas, more books.

This is the part of the path we make. The only part we control. Do not sit down. Do not stand still.

Just. Keep. Writing.

2 thoughts on “Pushing The Green Button

  1. Thank you for posting this. I also wonder whether someone will want to read the book I’m working on. It makes me panic, a lot! I just need to keep on writing, so I have something to actually condense into a book!

Leave a Reply

